Cast by arjantupan

Show the cast this replies to

Isn't that just exactly the same as "opt out and you're banned".

1 likes0 recasts1 replies

1 reply

  • No because I don’t ban anyone. Users can make the decision themselves whether or not they want to see the person in their feed and the unfollowed persons posts are still surfaced in discover, trending, replies etc. unless blocked at the protocol level. I don’t make the choice for people. I just make it easy for people to make that choice. I flag all opted in accounts if people want to clean up their follows 🧹

    0 likes0 recasts1 replies

    Hmm. I see. Still, feels like marking people to be sorted out. But that might also be because I am in that opted in list.

    1 likes0 recasts4 replies

    Yes that’s intentional. Not marked to be sorted out necessarily. Just marked. People can decide what that mark ultimately means.

    0 likes0 recasts0 replies

    It’s not just for petty people. Its an incredible tool. I wiped out so many bots and inactive accounts really quickly. Need one for Twitter now

    0 likes0 recasts0 replies

    fwiw i still follow you despite offering that option because i made the decision that there are people i respect on this app that may have opted in under coercion or i just appreciate their contribution to the community or their posts in my feed.

    0 likes0 recasts0 replies

    Sorry don’t mean to spam, just want to make clear the philosophy behind the client. I recommend you give this a read. It’s a bit long, but I think it makes the point.

    0 likes0 recasts0 replies